q2 servers here?

Misc topics

q2 servers here?

Postby colombo » Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:23 UTC

q2 servers would be great here. you think?
User avatar
colombo
TM
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:05 UTC
Location: Spain
Server: FFA

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby dyn » Tue Aug 30, 2011 14:08 UTC

It could be fun! :)

I think old Q2 is used only for pak files and we should use some modern port. At least with Q1 it is like that, i need to check more about Q2.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby craij » Tue Aug 30, 2011 15:38 UTC

q2 lithium was the best mod
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby Weegee » Tue Aug 30, 2011 18:43 UTC

Do want.
User avatar
Weegee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 13:32 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm4
Server: FFA

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby chaos252 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 19:30 UTC

vote yes
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby colombo » Tue Aug 30, 2011 21:03 UTC

interesting answers
User avatar
colombo
TM
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:05 UTC
Location: Spain
Server: FFA

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby dyn » Fri Sep 02, 2011 00:05 UTC

You can play it without our custom server, at least for now. All you need is main pak files and some modern port, i think original Q2 also can connect to most servers, unless network protocol changed too much.

Q2 ports, most of them discontinued:
R1Q2: http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/r1q2/ (client / server)
EGL: http://egl.quakedev.com/
Q2Max: http://q2max.quakedev.com/ (nice one)
AprQ2: http://maniac.aq2world.com/apr/
Q2Evolved: http://www.google.com/search?q=q2evolved (site gone)
Quetoo: http://jdolan.dyndns.org/trac/wiki/Quetoo (Linux/BSD only)
Ports usually also accept new q2 texture packs, to improve graphics.

Server list: http://www.gametracker.com/search/q2/
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby Weegee » Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:15 UTC

As far as I remember, in 2007 it was still the same protocol and normal quake2.exe could connect without problems.
Some other ports:
http://bfeared.com/library/index.php?dir=quake/archive/quakedev/qudos/quake2/engines/Q2P/
http://quake2xp.sourceforge.net/
http://kmq2.quakedev.com/
User avatar
Weegee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 13:32 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm4
Server: FFA

Re: q2 servers here?

Postby dyn » Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:07 UTC

Weegee wrote:As far as I remember, in 2007 it was still the same protocol and normal quake2.exe could connect without problems.


From EGL site:
Wednesday, September 26 2007
ยป EGL 0.3.1-R1 Release By: R1CH @ 11:34 AM
Since Echon is way too lazy to deal with EGL, I ended up fixing EGL 0.3.1 to work with the new protocol 35 changes recently introduced by R1Q2, and now I even have to post the news post about it! This release simply updates EGL to the new protocol 35, offering additional bandwidth savings.


Of course it depends on servers, if they use old or new server ports.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests