DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Misc topics

DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby dyn » Sat Dec 17, 2011 18:48 UTC


Doom 3 Modern Graphics (2011)




Doom 3 vs. Doom 3 SIKKMOD



"Sikkmod is a general enhancement mod for id Software's 2004 FPS: Doom 3 and its expansion pack: Resurrection of Evil. Its main purposes are to update visuals of Doom 3 to a more modern level and to allow the user to customize various aspects of the game to suit their preferred styles all while maintaining the core mechanics and aesthetics originally put in by id Software. The mod also includes a number of fixes to and better organization of stock files in order to create a clean and more stable base for future mods."
http://www.moddb.com/mods/sikkmod
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby dyn » Sat Dec 17, 2011 18:53 UTC

Also available for Quake 4, which uses DOOM 3 engine.


QUAKE 4 NEXT-GEN SIKKMOD + GTX

User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby Apocalypse » Thu Jan 12, 2012 01:13 UTC

Looks Nice. best thing is the blur motion when you spin around. makes it more realistic on q4 and doom 3.
You will want at least 1 gig memory video card to use all of the features together.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 02:40 UTC

blooming effect and some textures improved.. i dunno, it had it good on hirez and that other stuff they had for addon. realistic mod was best for it. doom 3 isnt a benchmark anymore. what u pushing now apoc? Vcards
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby Apocalypse » Thu Jan 12, 2012 18:55 UTC

1UnRaTeD1 wrote:blooming effect and some textures improved.. i dunno, it had it good on hirez and that other stuff they had for addon. realistic mod was best for it. doom 3 isnt a benchmark anymore. what u pushing now apoc? Vcards

Nope just giving advice to anyone that tries this mod. it is pretty nice mod plays fine on my system with everything turned up (even the shadows and lense flare lighting effects) but i have SLI 1 gig cards.

Tried it on another PC with Pentium D3.4/4 meg l2 4gb system mem with 1 gig card. it didnt play with everything turned on. had bad problems with shadows. with a faster processor this system would play it.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 04:10 UTC

the cpu is fine. 3.4ghz? single core? or core dual? if anything, the mod has the problems, not the system. cant be the system, that system has alot more than what it needs to play the game and mod
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby chaos252 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 07:10 UTC

1UnRaTeD1 wrote:the cpu is fine. 3.4ghz? single core? or core dual? if anything, the mod has the problems, not the system. cant be the system, that system has alot more than what it needs to play the game and mod


the cpu is not fine. D stands for dual. a 1 ghz core 2 duo is faster than a 3 ghz D. ive had one, even with lots of ram and a fat video card it struggles.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 17:20 UTC

i have a pentium D 3.2ghz single core i looked up the model number on the chip itself..anyway thats wierd slowdowns? on this little mod?
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby chaos252 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:43 UTC

1UnRaTeD1 wrote:i have a pentium D 3.2ghz single core


this is not possible unrated.

"The Pentium D[2] brand refers to two series of desktop dual-core 64-bit x86-64 microprocessors with the NetBurst microarchitecture manufactured by Intel. Each CPU comprised two dies, each containing a single core, residing next to each other on a multi-chip module package."

depth of field, hdr lightning, ssao (used in crysis) and bloom make the mod pretty taxing. but from the screens ive seen, it makes doom 3 look amazing. makes me wanna get a new comp. i wish i could find some really good single player addons besides RoE.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby Apocalypse » Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:51 UTC

chaos252 wrote:
1UnRaTeD1 wrote:i have a pentium D 3.2ghz single core


this is not possible unrated.

"The Pentium D[2] brand refers to two series of desktop dual-core 64-bit x86-64 microprocessors with the NetBurst microarchitecture manufactured by Intel. Each CPU comprised two dies, each containing a single core, residing next to each other on a multi-chip module package."

depth of field, hdr lightning, ssao (used in crysis) and bloom make the mod pretty taxing. but from the screens ive seen, it makes doom 3 look amazing. makes me wanna get a new comp. i wish i could find some really good single player addons besides RoA.

U R CORRECT SIR. I have been fixing computers since 1988 and tinkering with them since my commadore64 and my ibm 286 laptop/w norton system commander and dos. i dont need hardware and graphics lectures. i have a degree for small electronics and computer repair. as well as video editing and engineering.
TY chaos (:
The specs i gave for playing the SIKKMOD are correct. chaos i will send u some links for some new skins and stuff.
Unrated try hitting SIKKMOD options. everything that says off.....turn them all on and try their are like 20 then try to play with single 1 gig gpu and a pentium D. wont happen.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 04:06 UTC

http://ark.intel.com/products/27514/Intel-Pentium-D-Processor-840-(2M-Cache-3_20-GHz-800-MHz-FSB)

my bad.. my bad thats correct strange though could of sworn i seen the, single core only when i looked up the cpu model number.. my bad im straight now this D 2core yes
===========================
http://ark.intel.com/products/27479/Intel-Pentium-4-Processor-631-supporting-HT-Technology-(2M-Cache-3_00-GHz-800-MHz-FSB)

other 1 here, 1 core though socket 775 :) i was thinking socket 775 i know for a fact 775 has single cores to
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: DOOM 3 Modern Graphics (2011)

Postby Apocalypse » Fri Feb 17, 2012 20:18 UTC

I forgot to mention to play ROE SIKKMod:
if you have the latest doom pathes. You need to load the mod when the game loads
1. create a shortcut to ROE ( path should be this minus your install folder) Doom 3\doom3.exe" +set fs_game_base d3xp
2. After the d3xp put a space then insert this:
Code: Select all
+set fs_game sikkmodd3xp
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Linkdex [Bot] and 0 guests