VOGON Q3 v1.666

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby AG » Fri Jul 16, 2010 19:53 UTC

oh yeah -- normal edition is working fine.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby Suparhappy » Sun Jul 18, 2010 14:07 UTC

If I use it together with UIEnhanced 1.2 it goes back to regular Q3 gameplay for some reason after a nextmap. :(

I use UIE to start random games in my 1000+ map collection.
User avatar
Suparhappy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 19:08 UTC
Favorite map: Q3DM6
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby dyn » Sun Jul 18, 2010 16:45 UTC

In that case i recommend pk3 edition, which loads automatically. Most probably UIE is launching next map without specific gamedir, which is required for mod to load. This is normal, but not desired in your case. Maybe you could try adding this to launch parameters @ UIE, if it supports it: +set fs_game vogon +set sv_pure 0. If you need sv_pure 1 then use pk3, because Q3 has problems running pure 1 + non-pk3 mods.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby Suparhappy » Tue Jul 20, 2010 04:04 UTC

Thanks that worked from just sticking the vm in a pk3 file, but it still switches to a stock map when the game's over.
User avatar
Suparhappy
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 19:08 UTC
Favorite map: Q3DM6
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby dyn » Tue Jul 20, 2010 14:17 UTC

Yes, it is UIE application which is setting different parameters. PK3 file will always load when in /baseq3, just like VM files from original Q3 load everytime you start Q3. VM from last file read is effective -- that way updates work when they put new VM files in a new pak (pak2-pak8).
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby Tripredacus » Sun Jul 25, 2010 17:52 UTC

Ah ha I remember asking about the QVM awhile ago when I wanted to try a Superheroes Q3 using Vogon settings. Even though I can play online again, my Q3 server still can't connect to the internet, which reminds me, its been awhile I should ask some questions about that... in another thread.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby borgsex » Thu May 30, 2013 02:00 UTC

Has anyone here setup Raspberry pi Quake3 ?
borgsex
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 02:48 UTC

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby Tripredacus » Sat Jun 01, 2013 03:32 UTC

How much RAM does a Pi have? I remember RAM had a direct relationship with the amount of players on dedicated.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby dyn » Wed Sep 10, 2014 14:23 UTC

Replying to old posts, mostly because of the 2nd link, about new driver<>Q3 for R-Pi.

borgsex wrote:Has anyone here setup Raspberry pi Quake3 ?

How to install/ build/ play Quake 3.... [Sep 30, 2012]
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=18853

Quake III bounty: we have a winner! [31st Mar 2014]
http://www.raspberrypi.org/quake-iii-bounty-we-have-a-winner/
(Q3 running on new ARM driver)

Tripredacus wrote:How much RAM does a Pi have? I remember RAM had a direct relationship with the amount of players on dedicated.

Older model A has 256 MB, model B has 512 MB, more info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi

In any case it is enough for a full dedicated server. Complex maps will take more RAM, for instance you can run a server with 64 MB dedicated for Q3, but when we used custom maps, especially larger CTF maps we had to switch to 96 MB config. Still, it is really low. We can run Q3 on a 128 MB VPS server without a problem, providing you only run Q3 and a few light apps and of course no GUI, bare minimum Debian or CentOS (and others) server install. In case of HDD restraints i have special PK3 pack for dedicated Q3 which takes only 40 MB of space. :)
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON Q3 v1.666

Postby dyn » Wed Sep 10, 2014 14:51 UTC

OK, to get back on topic, just some info if you work with Git -- and this is only for those who work with source code, you can skip all of this if you only want to install our mod. You can also skip installing if you only want to play on our servers, since the mod is server-side, compatible with old original Quake 3 and ioquake3 as well.

// tech info starts here
VOGON Q3 mod was ported to ioquake3 back in 2010, we used revision 1784 for that purpose. Since then ioquake3 team is not using SVN anymore, they moved everything to GitHub @ https://github.com/ioquake/ioq3/. It is still possible to use SVN checkout to get the latest version or required revision (svn co -r nnnn ...), but in case you want revision 1784 in Git you need to checkout 2950bb9 commit [full commit-hash: 2950bb98ea2e414c0067787fd77a9192a479db97]. This is commit from May 17 2010.

I will port everything to the new source with the next update. In any case you can use the mod as it is today, there are no urgent security fixes or anything of that nature, the mod also runs as QVM which is a secure environment in itself. A lot of new work on ioquake3 is often on the client-side, such as OpenGL2 renderer, and various smaller additions or less important fixes like fixing typos in the source code.

In case you are wondering, VOGON source code is included with the mod. There are no separate downloads, unless you want pk3 edition, which is the same only repackaged as pk3.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Previous

Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests