Big ping UK

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

Big ping UK

Postby GenZ! » Wed Dec 08, 2010 18:36 UTC

Hey, i got a problem.
I have big ping at UK server since November.
My old normal ping was 50-70 and now im getting 200-300 :( I didn't changed anything in my connection settings and config.

Screens:
Image

Image

Any ideas? :(

sorry for my bad english.
User avatar
GenZ!
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 13:56 UTC
Location: Poland
Favorite map: q3dm1
Server: CTF

Re: Big ping UK

Postby AG » Wed Dec 08, 2010 18:40 UTC

think the server moved.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: Big ping UK

Postby Apocalypse » Wed Dec 08, 2010 22:38 UTC

mine used to be like 120 now it is around 135 From Notheast USA.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: Big ping UK

Postby SD » Thu Dec 09, 2010 08:17 UTC

200 is still a very good ping, stop complaining.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Big ping UK

Postby CRITIC » Thu Dec 09, 2010 14:56 UTC

200 ping may be good (for someone) but the lags make the play (especialy with rail) annoying and sometimes imposible... :/
User avatar
CRITIC
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 09:40 UTC
Location: Czech Republic
Favorite map: q3tourney1
Server: FFA

Re: Big ping UK

Postby GenZ! » Thu Dec 09, 2010 16:47 UTC

I got normal ping at FFA server, so maybe its something wrong with UK server settings

Image
User avatar
GenZ!
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 13:56 UTC
Location: Poland
Favorite map: q3dm1
Server: CTF

Re: Big ping UK

Postby AG » Thu Dec 09, 2010 17:21 UTC

or maybe the server moved.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: Big ping UK

Postby Tripredacus » Sat Dec 11, 2010 04:37 UTC

CRITIC wrote:200 ping may be good (for someone) but the lags make the play (especialy with rail) annoying and sometimes imposible... :/


You just need to lead the target. I used to have bad ping a long time ago because my computer sucked, so I learned to lead the target. Now my PC is good for q3 and maybe that helped a little.. not sure.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: Big ping UK

Postby dyn » Sat Dec 11, 2010 07:46 UTC

No it didn't move, but if this continues we can move it somewhere else. Ping is not higher for all people, seems like some sort of temp problem.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com


Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest