There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 04:37 UTC

if im correct that computer was made for storage or server. most of them dont have onboard video or sound
i have 1 my self. it has rambus and no onboard video or sound
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby craij » Fri Oct 21, 2011 14:26 UTC

dean, the speakers you plugged in, they work elsewhere, right?

what audiophile card you have? 24/96? if so, jam that bugger in there.
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Fri Oct 21, 2011 15:41 UTC

craij wrote:dean, the speakers you plugged in, they work elsewhere, right?
what audiophile card you have? 24/96? if so, jam that bugger in there.

Yeah, I tested them on my netbook to make sure they were working.
Yes, I have a 24/96, and an EMU. I forget the model number for the EMU, but it is basically comparible to the 24/96. I've got the EMU on my desk at home, but I'll have to look for the 24/96. It's in my basement, somewhere. I'd rather use he 24/96 over the EMU... it's much more user friendly. (although, IMO the EMU was a better performer. However I'm not making rave music anymore, so that doesn't really matter to me any more. :P)

1UnRaTeD1 wrote:if im correct that computer was made for storage or server. most of them dont have onboard video or sound
i have 1 my self. it has rambus and no onboard video or sound

The MB didn't originally come in that case... I think the computer was Frankensteined out of individual bits and pieces. I'll know better once I take a gander inside when I get home tonight.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Fri Oct 21, 2011 22:23 UTC

It looks like it is a 'Thinkcentre Daytona G' MB. Maybe the driver wasn't installed?
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Fri Oct 21, 2011 22:38 UTC

Hmmm, I also installed my audiophile 24/96, & installed the drivers. It doesn't seem to be recognized by my computer. It sort of knows it's there, but I can't see anything in the m-audio mixer thing, and it doesn't show up in my hardware properties. I downloaded a driver that is supposed to be compatible with 32bit W7...
Image
I know I'm a little out of touch when it comes to hardware, but I've never had this kind of trouble getting my audio to work. :(
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Fri Oct 21, 2011 22:44 UTC

Ahh, I think I got the 24/96 to work, I just need to go buy the adapters I need to change RCAs into 1/8". :)
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Fri Oct 21, 2011 23:14 UTC

Yow. As soon as I hooked up an RCA adapter to the sound card, it crashed to a blue screen, said there was a hardware error, then wouldn't turn on again until I removed the card.
Friggin' PITA.

I guess FarCry2 will have to wait til I can get this sorted out.

Soundless Quake it is, then!
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 00:13 UTC

want me to send u off a soundcard? its free. its a SB 4.0
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby Apocalypse » Sat Oct 22, 2011 00:31 UTC

dean go here d/l cpu id it gives you motherboard model number and version and manfacturer. just d/l and double click to run it. When it opens third tab says mainboard click that tab. Shuold tell u everything u need to know
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Sat Oct 22, 2011 02:03 UTC

Nice, that's a great little utility apoc. :) However, I look at the specs for my hardware, and I see the card is only 256mb instead of 512. :( I'll have to see if I can get that taken care of. 256 is more than enough for Q3A, but I'm looking forward to running some newer games too. I don't think FarCry2 will run too well with a 256mb card.

Thanks for the offer unrated, but I'll probably track something down that's a little more local. :) I'm sure I can buy a card around here for a few bucks. Ideally, I'd like to get the onboard sound to work

I'll see what I can do tomorrow. Drank a few beers tonight, now I just feel like going to bed.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 03:45 UTC

Minimum requirements

CPU:

Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz, Pentium D 2.66 Ghz AMD Athlon 64 3500+ or better

Video card:

NVIDIA 6800 or ATIX1650 or better

Shader Model 3 required

256 Mb of graphic memory

Memory: 1 GB

Media reader: DVD-ROM

Hard drive space:
~12 Gig or HD space. (tbd)

Farcry 2 minimum
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Sat Oct 22, 2011 14:41 UTC

Just about to go out to a computer store or two, but thought I'd post the specs before I did. There's an HTML file here:
http://tim.stasis.org/www-sites/pc/
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Sat Oct 22, 2011 16:06 UTC

Excellent! I bought myself a used $15 Sound Blaster card, and I now have sound! Off to play a round or 2 of Quake, before installing FarCry2.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby Apocalypse » Mon Oct 24, 2011 23:44 UTC

no problem Dean. any more questions u know what to do. :)
good buy on the SB card. I have a live platnium with all the front panel accesories in a box. i upgraded to a PCI EX audigy Gamer
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Tue Oct 25, 2011 01:25 UTC

SB's aint bad they always worked for me..never any problems with em..not that i know of. if anything. it might of been a small problem that i cant remember. :)
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby dyn » Wed Oct 26, 2011 09:46 UTC

DEAN SINSTROM wrote:After a long and completely senseless absence from vogon/q3a and video games in general, I'm back to playing on Vogon! Well, at least I will be soon. I'm picking up a new gaming rig this Tuesday, and am super-looking forward to fragging with you guys again.

One day I installed Q3A on one of my computers at work, and realized how much I've missed vogon! I've had a chance to chat in-game with craij & AG, and even said hi to Kitty a few minutes ago. I've tried playing a bit on my tiny netbook, but a 10" screen just doesn't cut it. :no:

I'll be popping in now and then until Tuesday. Then I'll be back in full force, like the rash on craij's inner thighs that never fully heal.


Welcome back! :)

I was positive you were devoured by alligators when in Florida, because that was the last time we heard from you.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Wed Oct 26, 2011 16:30 UTC

Thanks Dyn! Was that really the last time I was on the forums? That was more than a year ago. :blush: Silly Dean, abstinence is for Christians, not Quake!

- The good news... I got my 512mb ATI today. My buddy who built the computer for me sent it to me gratis. Gonna put it in tonight, and see how high can set FarCry2's graphics.
- The bad news... My impatience got the best of me before he said he'd send me one, and I bought another one on eBay. If i just waited a few hours I wouldn't have bought the 2nd one.
- Worse than that... If I had of checked kijiji before I bought it, I would have found out that the guy I bought it from lives 20 minutes away, and had it listed on kijiji for the same price I bought it for ($18), but would have saved myself $10 in shipping cost.

Oh well. Looks like I'll have a spare 256mb and 521mb video card, until I can figure out what to do with them. And really, as far as eBay remorse goes, $28 isn't bad at all. (I've bought things much more costly than that in the past that I've regretted afterwards! :P)
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 01:25 UTC

what r the exact specs on them the 256 and 512mb spare ones. i wanna see the full specs plzz :)
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Thu Oct 27, 2011 01:46 UTC

The 256mb card is:
ATI Radeon 2600 Pro
http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-2000/hd-2600/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-2600-gpu-specs.aspx

And the 512mb card (hasn't arrived yet) is:
MSI ATI Radeon HD 4350
http://reviews.cnet.com/graphics-cards/msi-r4350-md512h-graphics/4507-8902_7-33737390.html

The one I put in my computer tonight is a ATI 4370. It's friggin' sweet! I've got my settings ramped up to "very high", at 1024x768. I still get around 40fps. It looks super-sweet!
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: There goes the neighbourhood. (again)

Postby 1UnRaTeD1 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 02:35 UTC

the ATI radeon 2600 pro. if u dont find anything useful for it let me know i could use it on ati demos of ruby :)
User avatar
1UnRaTeD1
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 17:31 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: FFA

Previous

Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests