hook is not working in CTF

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

hook is not working in CTF

Postby =RS= » Thu Dec 01, 2011 16:37 UTC

Is there a reason why the hook is not working in CTF :yes:
User avatar
=RS=
Former Admin
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 13:51 UTC
Location: Liverpool uk
Favorite map: any1
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby SD » Thu Dec 01, 2011 17:37 UTC

Fixed!
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby =RS= » Fri Dec 02, 2011 00:38 UTC

=) Thanks SD
User avatar
=RS=
Former Admin
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 13:51 UTC
Location: Liverpool uk
Favorite map: any1
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Fri Dec 02, 2011 09:13 UTC

Maybe it would be interesting to play without it for a bit. Space maps are over in literally 10 seconds with offhand hook. With custom maps, if we use them, it adds new dimension to the game when you play without being able to warp effortlessly to any visible location. Map obstacles are there so team develops attack/defense strategy, with instant hook it is reduced to a game of who will warp through the map faster.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sat Dec 03, 2011 01:06 UTC

It's wrong idea... Many players are away. Vogon CTF is unique with hook. Without hook is one of many.

And when 2 or 3 players camping... unplayable without hook..!

And lost all the statistics on gametracker.com and players lost all settings (favorite server, nicknames, etc.) :sceptic2: :sceptic2:

Very wrong idea...

You tried to play now? No...


Thanks
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Sat Dec 03, 2011 03:09 UTC

This is only temporary to explore new game modes, we will enable it again soon.

GT has its own problems, it has nothing to do with CTF server if they lost track of players etc. There are other sites similar to GT, for example much older http://www.game-monitor.com/ or http://www.theclq.com/, both track pretty much all visible servers for all games which support open tracking. The CLQ has stats for 49,760,122 players and 85,738 servers. :)
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sat Dec 03, 2011 08:34 UTC

dyn wrote:GT has its own problems, it has nothing to do with CTF server if they lost track of players etc.



I think no...

For example: http://www.gametracker.com/server_info/94.76.201.171:27960/top_players/

http://www.gametracker.com/search/q3/?query=VOGON

CTF is missing...
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sat Dec 03, 2011 08:44 UTC

dyn wrote:we will enable it again soon.




When? How long to wait? Many players maybe not return...
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby GenZ! » Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:17 UTC

There's different config on CTF (without plasma, and bfg with 1 ball) :(
User avatar
GenZ!
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 13:56 UTC
Location: Poland
Favorite map: q3dm1
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chaos252 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 13:49 UTC

why not just have fun with it till it goes back? there are other ways of moving about levels quickly. rocket and bfg off walls for example. use your brains. try new things.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sat Dec 03, 2011 16:02 UTC

chaos252 wrote:why not just have fun with it till it goes back? there are other ways of moving about levels quickly. rocket and bfg off walls for example. use your brains. try new things.



:lol: :lol:

Go and try, against two Campers. Genius...
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby AG » Sat Dec 03, 2011 17:37 UTC

i've never understood why ctf players are COMPLETELY UNABLE TO PLAY if any slight change is made… or why players on any other server can deal with campers, but for some reason a ctf camper will totally shut down the match.

obviously, removing the hook is making ctf players use other skills besides just slingshotting back and forth across the maps as fast as possible.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sat Dec 03, 2011 18:22 UTC

How players? Nobody do not go there... Or stay a few minutes and go away... lol

Wery good idea for better visits... lol

My mind. Thanks
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby =RS= » Sun Dec 04, 2011 01:15 UTC

Chuva your right, but the people who are commenting are not playing there because no one is,
please get real play there before you post
User avatar
=RS=
Former Admin
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 13:51 UTC
Location: Liverpool uk
Favorite map: any1
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sun Dec 04, 2011 13:35 UTC

Yes, this is the problem...!!
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:22 UTC

chuva wrote:
dyn wrote:we will enable it again soon.




When? How long to wait? Many players maybe not return...


Not long, we just need to see how it goes. There is no exact time-frame, we never plan anything.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:31 UTC

=RS= wrote:Chuva your right, but the people who are commenting are not playing there because no one is,
please get real play there before you post


That is true, but also they have a point -- it is not hard to move fast across the map without hook, with settings we use. In fact it is very easy (extra power & no self-damage), hook on top of that makes it practically effortless, and when there is no challenge people lose interest, even if it feels cool initially to warp around at lightning speeds. Sure, with hook there is a different kind of gameplay, would be cool with tunnel-style maps.

Btw, original 3W CTF hook for Quake 1 was weapon-based (like wp10 hook we use @ ffa) and much slower. Of course we don't want only this, but it is another option to explore. No hook, wp10 hook, and offhand hook. I think offhand hook makes it too easy with current speed settings, especially on space maps.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chaos252 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 03:18 UTC

i played a few games with <ks> kevin and it was really fun.. he was wondering about hook as well. i enjoy ctf much more without hook, but thats just me (im not a hook fan). rather than bitching just try it out. if your quick and know the angles, shooting yourself off walls is very fast. i feel like theres more strategy when you cant move back n forth instantly. i love insta CTF on quake live and it reminds me of that.

the reason i rarely play ctf on here is because its generally a bunch of people spamming by the flag and a few people hooking between flags. which takes like 5 seconds to move across the map if youre good. its fun but after a few matches i cant do it anymore. again thats just me, i know its a very popular server.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chaos252 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 03:33 UTC

the thing that really ruins the server imo is pass thru. as soon as the other team is alerted that the flag has been taken, they just spam through walls at base exit. or just constantly spam at the flag itself the whole game.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Tue Dec 06, 2011 05:14 UTC

Yes, pass-through Rail is not limited and one team can spam with it. It is much better with FFA than CTF. It is possible to turn off this ability without removing the weapon itself, but i am sure we can expect more complaints then. :)
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby dyn » Wed Dec 07, 2011 08:00 UTC

We will enable wp10 hook today, for a test.

If you like old settings, don't panic. Different config options are there so we can switch between them.

Update: weapon 10 hook is enabled on CTF. Fire speed is 3000, pull speed is 2000.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Thu Dec 08, 2011 18:05 UTC

:< :< bad...
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Thu Dec 08, 2011 19:09 UTC

Open another CTF mod with the original config. I'll pay it ...!! I'm serious.!
I've said it once, you know dyn.

2 FFA and 2 CTF. Not bad... :)
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby GenZ! » Sat Dec 10, 2011 23:10 UTC

Look...





That was Vogon CTF (no time for good decisions, just move and kill them all). Now everyone's tactic is DEFEND THE BASE, because the hook is too slow and it's offhand.
User avatar
GenZ!
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 13:56 UTC
Location: Poland
Favorite map: q3dm1
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby **XTREM*YUZI » Sun Dec 11, 2011 00:07 UTC

I felt that something was wrong. VOGON CTF CHAOS (HELL) without hook - is stupid shit for e+ players. Fast hook - mascot, no... this is TITLE artifact of the VOGON CTF! Who are you for remove HOOK from CHAOS CTF. This is big mistake.

VOGON CTF CHAOS was made in hell and it was with fast grappling HOOK. Devil (DarthPaganeo - maybe he is Demon of VOGON CTF CHAOS) made hook, and this was best stuff in the world.
I was in this hell, and I know, that hook is 80% of game. This is fun, this is nice, this is speed.

Administration (maybe same admins/moderators or who sitting here knows me), I want to say:
You have to return back hook. VOGON CTF CHAOS + HOOK = what must be.
or you will be cast curse of Oblivion
**XTREM*YUZI
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 23:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby AG » Sun Dec 11, 2011 05:45 UTC

see, as has been shown by the past few posts, the players on ctf are completely reasonable and flexible.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby SD » Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:51 UTC

Yeah I tend to agree with AG here. It's not THAT big a deal that offhand hook is disabled. Yes, it's probably weird for a while but you will get used to it - why not just learn to adapt and enjoy playing the game a bit differently for a while? CTF players are so obsessed with the hook it's crazy. I've specced CTF quite a bit and it's just one big lightning bolt of whizzing from one end of the map to the other. It's fine to have gotten used to something and it's fine to have a preferred playing style, but seriously, is anyone going to die just because you have to move around a bit differently?
Maybe we should alter things further. I propose the following -

Disable ALL weapons
Crank hook fire and pull speed up to ABSOLUTE MAXIMUM
Remove flags
Disable chat
Alter the mod so that it's fully automated - the engine will do the thinking and manouvering for you - you won't need to press anything - just sit back and watch as your character gets from one end of the map to the other at LIGHTNING speed, just like being in spec. It'll be a blast.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby chuva » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:00 UTC

Dominate the hook is an art, everybody knows it. It is very difficult and requires speed. The speed is now missing. It's slow, boring game. Therefore, we are so angry. It is not about overcome quickly map.

Vogon was a speed, agility and accuracy. Unique. Now it's gone. Are you happy? Nobody there longer not come. Excellent result of your decision.

Open another mod, with the original config. I'll pay it. And you can compare what will be a better option.
Otherwise, you can close CTF immediately.

I'm starting to regret my grants.


Thanks
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby SD » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:11 UTC

chuva wrote:Therefore, we are so angry.
Open another mod, with the original config. I'll pay it. And you can compare what will be a better option.
Otherwise, you can close CTF immediately.

I'm starting to regret my grants.


Thanks


Angry? First of all, that's pretty damn sad. To be "angry" about one minor element of a game changing is pathetic.
Regret your grants? I'm assuming you mean donations? Stomping your feet and crying like a girl just because the precious hook isn't precisely how you like it to be is, again, sad and pathetic. Dyn even said this is just temporary to see how it goes but obviously this is affecting your life and personal wellbeing to such a degree you simply can't cope. Get over it.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: hook is not working in CTF

Postby SD » Sun Dec 11, 2011 17:15 UTC

And changing names to things like "Hook back please!" is also sad and pathetic.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Next

Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 0 guests