vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Sat Mar 24, 2012 15:54 UTC

http://www.vogonhell.clanservers.com/

for anyone who's interested and wants to try it, i've set up an additional vogon server in dallas as a US backup. connect with:

Code: Select all
] \connect vogonhellq3.clanservers.com

it'll be used for instakill, custom maps or ridiculous settings.

as a reward of my ultimate benevolence, vogonhell will start fresh in regard to bans -- anyone and everyone is invited to play. that being said, there is still zero-tolerance for cheating.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby SD » Sat Mar 24, 2012 19:29 UTC

AG wrote:http://www.vogonhell.clanservers.com/

for anyone who's interested and wants to try it, i've set up an additional vogon server in dallas as a US backup. connect with:

Code: Select all
] \connect vogonhellq3.clanservers.com

it'll be used for instakill, custom maps or ridiculous settings.

as a reward of my ultimate benevolence, vogonhell will start fresh in regard to bans -- anyone and everyone is invited to play. that being said, there is still zero-tolerance for cheating.


+Like - A LOT
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby Apocalypse » Sun Mar 25, 2012 01:32 UTC

IK would be very nice again. :) no rocket nade or lightning gun spam.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby Tripredacus » Sun Mar 25, 2012 03:01 UTC

I tried it and noticed that the bots have a limited fov. Usually you come upon them just standing around. Only time they do anything is if another player or bot spawns near them.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Sun Mar 25, 2012 05:58 UTC

fixed
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby R0tnAx » Sun Mar 25, 2012 18:46 UTC

Haha that awesome :P. Ag sent you a private mesage ;).
User avatar
R0tnAx
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 20:03 UTC
Location: Canada,QC
Favorite map: Q3CTF1
Server: CTF

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby SD » Tue Mar 27, 2012 18:00 UTC

Ping 151. And your bots are fucking psychotic! Damn you have to move quick once you spawn or you're a dead man!
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Tue Mar 27, 2012 18:11 UTC

haha
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby dyn » Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:35 UTC

Instakill can be intense! :)

Perhaps some small VPS would be better, if they are not overselling bastards. Nothing wrong with existing, just saying, in case you need more control.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby Tripredacus » Fri Mar 30, 2012 04:16 UTC

The ping is a little high, but thats fine since it is a hosted server. As a comparison, Donkey Kong's server ping is way less.

IDK about the new bots being really hard, they seem mid range to me. They aren't over powering (I dont know if AG used one of the 5 built in difficulty levels for them) and they can be beaten. And that is just perfect for any server that will have bots as well as players, since players is what you want and not bots. But you have to think whether the smaller player base means you need to have weaker bots... :/
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby craij » Fri Mar 30, 2012 15:33 UTC

I couldn't get hook or alt-fire working. Even tried copying over my Vogon-T1 config.
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Fri Mar 30, 2012 16:09 UTC

i've got both turned off right now

think i also turned off rail explosion
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Fri Mar 30, 2012 16:24 UTC

Tripredacus wrote:As a comparison, Donkey Kong's server ping is way less.

vogonhell is in dallas. dk's is next to you in philadelphia.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby SD » Fri Mar 30, 2012 17:47 UTC

Tripredacus wrote:IDK about the new bots being really hard, they seem mid range to me. :/


That's because you're such an amazing Q3 player I could never hope to compare to you.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby chaos252 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 20:03 UTC

ya the settings are good. streamlined. no lg is good to. dks server has better movement settings imo.. but since his server is pure or something I can't get the hd texture pack I have workin or cpma models. my cfg wont load every time I join its weird.. I downloaded to many mods my q3a is all messed up.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby AG » Fri Mar 30, 2012 20:29 UTC

chaos252 wrote:ya the settings are good. streamlined. no lg is good to. dks server has better movement settings imo..

i'm eventually going to bump it back to instakill and add a couple of custom maps -- right now just giving people a chance to try it and make sure there are no problems.
chaos252 wrote:but since his server is pure or something I can't get the hd texture pack I have workin or cpma models. my cfg wont load every time I join its weird.. I downloaded to many mods my q3a is all messed up.

in q3's server folders (vogon/, vogon-t1/, vogonhell/, etc) look for q3config.cfg, either delete the contents completely or add in your per-server settings and then set as read-only.

or yeah better yet, just start fresh and reinstall.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby chaos252 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 05:34 UTC

i really should.. i have like two baseq3s and 2 .exe's and like a million folders and pk3 files. ive never tried to organize it. there is seriously like 4 vogon-t1 folders lol

bigger problem i have is going from unlagged netcode (quake live) and aiming behind model and vq3 where you lead ahead, getting harder to juggle both.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby Tripredacus » Sun Apr 01, 2012 06:16 UTC

chaos252 wrote:but since his server is pure or something I can't get the hd texture pack I have workin or cpma models.


I know what you mean about models. I do not get the option of using the 40k model I normally use, so I have pick something else like the green Klesk I think I used last.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby craij » Mon Apr 02, 2012 15:59 UTC

AG wrote:i've got both turned off right now


oh
there's a welcome message explaining how to use them
:/
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: vogonhell - additional US q3 server

Postby Tripredacus » Sun Apr 08, 2012 01:07 UTC

I like the new settings, including the limited weapons and the increased bot accuracy. But still the bots do not roam on their own like they do on the vogon servers. They stand around, staring at whatever they stare at, until you are either really close, or fire at them. Then they will attack you but but if the line of sight is broken, they stop again.
User avatar
Tripredacus
Former Admin
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 08:10 UTC
Location: Buffalo, NY
Favorite map: Q3DM2
Server: FFA


Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 0 guests