VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Sun Aug 12, 2012 21:58 UTC

VOGON HQ-1 Anarchy is back, finally! :king:

/connect q3.vogon.vg
-- OR --
/connect 184.82.87.52:27960

Port 27960 is default and you can omit it.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Sun Aug 12, 2012 22:06 UTC

That's me playing q3dm8, speed was a bit higher, power as well. Older demo from 2010, but still fun to watch. :)
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Sun Aug 12, 2012 22:31 UTC



This one is from 2007, it shows some diff settings we didn't use much, it's added speed and power based on games played.
q3-vgPower-settings.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby craij » Tue Aug 14, 2012 17:34 UTC

Ah, these vids remind me of Vogon Anarchy at its best. Sure wish we could get that back. Quake has never been better.
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby chaos252 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 22:17 UTC

played a bit today.. love the settings there is air control <3 so you can float through the maps around corners instead of hitting walls constantly.

my debit is lost somewhere in my room but i will donate later today
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby craij » Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:25 UTC

what time/s will you try to jump in typically?
i get on randomly 10a - 6p on weekdays
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby chaos252 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 19:41 UTC

mostly at night on the weekends but early in the week i could drop by on those times. ill keep an eye out

i you happen to check out quake live my name is the same there, hit me up with a friend request.
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Mon Aug 20, 2012 20:45 UTC

VG Q3 is not QL, besides, QL is not much better, compared to other games it's practically dead. Yes, US Q3 is almost gone since 1-2 years ago, UK FFA had more players. There is also another problem, master server was down earlier this year for a month or two [GT - ShackNews], and when it came back certain websites and apps didn't work with it, which caused them never to "pick up". Besides, extended downtime also contributed to a lot of servers being shut down and players quitting. Then there is DrDoS crap, which also convinced a lot of server owners to quit. All this with already small playerbase is not a good way to keep Q3 alive.

I will improve something, and perhaps open UK server as well. UK should have few more players than the US one, Eastern/Central Europe is much better when it comes to older games, or even C64. :-D

About setting specific time to play, it makes it easier yes and this is how DOOM 1/2 community organizes deathmatch games a lot of times. It is most effective if you stick to 1-2 hr window. This is one of the reasons i mentioned Twitter recently, but then again this is not the right community for it. We can do it on server as well.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby chaos252 » Tue Aug 21, 2012 05:18 UTC

i bounce between the two as do many others although im far more used to ql's netcode now, the majority of all quake player base is on ql. i just mentioned it in case anyone from here does play there.

ive actually found a bunch of people who play quakeworld there to, they got me playing quakeworld for the first time :)
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby chaos252 » Tue Aug 21, 2012 06:31 UTC

i would love to see the vogon servers farggin again though.. i will donate very shortly ( debit still floating around room lol)
User avatar
chaos252
Former Admin
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:41 UTC
Location: Cleveland, OH
Favorite map: QZTOURNEY6
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Tue Aug 21, 2012 14:59 UTC

OK fix'd! You will see moar players now on both servers. Maybe it will need a bit to pick up. But again, expect more players from EU and on UK server.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Sun Aug 26, 2012 14:37 UTC

dyn wrote:OK fix'd! You will see moar players now on both servers.

Ahhh, good ol' HQ-1! I was on it briefly yesterday, there was a good amount of people on it. I'm going to try and throw a donation to the server sometime in the next few days.

(PS... I'm still awesome-to-the-max)
ds-iz-gr8.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby VAT » Sun Aug 26, 2012 15:59 UTC

DEAN SINSTROM wrote:
dyn wrote:OK fix'd! You will see moar players now on both servers.

Ahhh, good ol' HQ-1! I was on it briefly yesterday, there was a good amount of people on it. I'm going to try and throw a donation to the server sometime in the next few days.

(PS... I'm still awesome-to-the-max)
ds-iz-gr8.jpg


no wonder with that ping....
User avatar
VAT
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 18:19 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Sun Aug 26, 2012 16:18 UTC

This is great to see! Your score and also number of players @ the US server. I didn't expect it will pick up so soon! :)

CTF has some more people too, i am optimizing this and that. With Q3 there is also reflective DoS problem, which forced many admins to take servers offline, for Q3, ET, even COD4. I mean on top of everything it's the last thing one needs. We are blocking those, but there is still extra incoming traffic, it could be blocked @ ISP, but not all providers have this option. Some do, but since traffic from this is not that high nobody cares that much.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby VAT » Sun Aug 26, 2012 17:36 UTC

dyn wrote:This is great to see! Your score and also number of players @ the US server. I didn't expect it will pick up so soon! :)

CTF has some more people too, i am optimizing this and that. With Q3 there is also reflective DoS problem, which forced many admins to take servers offline, for Q3, ET, even COD4. I mean on top of everything it's the last thing one needs. We are blocking those, but there is still extra incoming traffic, it could be blocked @ ISP, but not all providers have this option. Some do, but since traffic from this is not that high nobody cares that much.


you do your best - thanks!
User avatar
VAT
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 18:19 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Mon Aug 27, 2012 04:53 UTC

Thank you! :)
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby craij » Tue Aug 28, 2012 20:46 UTC

VAT wrote:no wonder with that ping....

teehee ... ping envy

way to crush those HPBs Dean! give em hell!
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby VAT » Tue Aug 28, 2012 21:49 UTC

craij wrote:
VAT wrote:no wonder with that ping....

teehee ... ping envy

way to crush those HPBs Dean! give em hell!


envy is foreign to my nature. ping 33 and ping 150+ are worlds apart.
User avatar
VAT
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 18:19 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Wed Aug 29, 2012 00:11 UTC

craij wrote:teehee ... ping envy

I think doctors have just proven that a ping higher than 100 is a sign of late onset retardation.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby VAT » Wed Aug 29, 2012 16:52 UTC

DEAN SINSTROM wrote:
craij wrote:teehee ... ping envy

I think doctors have just proven that a ping higher than 100 is a sign of late onset retardation.


with ping 33 I would have proved you wrong before you already posted.
taking into count the fact that my ping is above 100, I´ll first consult
the doctor

best regards random retarded :)
User avatar
VAT
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 18:19 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby craij » Wed Aug 29, 2012 21:59 UTC

DEAN SINSTROM wrote:I think doctors have just proven that a ping higher than 100 is a sign of late onset retardation.

late data online retardation
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:00 UTC

Btw, just a quick note, US Q3 was not offline because of DRDoS attacks using pretty much all q3 and cod4 servers. It is much lower now, many servers are patched or they use firewall to block it, so there is no point for hackers to continue with that -- servers refuse to cooperate, don't send out data they wanted. Idea is simple, they forge UDP packet with 'getstatus' request, which can return 1k of info on busy servers. So they send out few bytes with that forged packet, just to contain 1 command with fake return address. This part is crucial, server will answer to whoever is being attacked. Now imagine sending thousands of those per second over all servers for particular game, which was 7000-9000 for COD4 until people patched things up. It could generate a lot of traffic towards anyone.

Interestingly Q3 still has some traffic of this kind, i am not sure why, since most servers are empty therefore getstatus reply is too small to amplify attacks much. Must be some kid learning or something. Also it seems on Q3 there is more servers which are not patched or firewalled properly. Out of those ~1400 returned by the master server there may be a lot of inactive, even abandoned/forgotten servers. At least number dropped from 2200+ to 1400, makes it easier for people to find active servers.

This is from today, 2012/08/30:
Code: Select all
master.quake3arena.com  1358 servers
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby detour » Wed Oct 17, 2012 14:04 UTC

Is the HQ-1 server being considered for revival?

:roll:
User avatar
detour
Former Admin
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 14:41 UTC
Favorite map: Carentan
Server: FFA

Re: VOGON HQ-1 US server is back!

Postby dyn » Wed Oct 17, 2012 20:50 UTC

Yes, but right now it's not clear if this new server can run everything, COD4 is still picking up today both game servers were almost full but not quite. If it doesn't it will require small upgrade or some other solution.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com


Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests