Podium glitch

Info on Quake 3 and VOGON servers - live status of all Q3 servers

Podium glitch

Postby DEAN SINSTROM » Tue Apr 23, 2013 19:49 UTC

Hey all. Been a while. :)

This was pretty neat. During a game, I had to spectate to change some settings. The game ended while I was still away. When I went to join the game again, I could see podium from inside the arena.

podium_glitch.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DEAN SINSTROM
Former Admin
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 20:17 UTC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Favorite map: Q3DM1
Server: FFA

Re: Podium glitch

Postby chuva » Wed Apr 24, 2013 17:01 UTC

Haha, it´s crazy...

How??

:smilina: :smilina:
User avatar
chuva
TM
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 15:45 UTC
Location: Czech Republik
Server: CTF

Re: Podium glitch

Postby AG » Wed Apr 24, 2013 20:36 UTC

welcome back

weird -- i've never seen that.
User avatar
AG
Q3 Admin
 
Posts: 2365
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 18:25 UTC
Location: Texas
Favorite map: q3dm17
Server: INSTAKILL
Website: http://vogonhq.com

Re: Podium glitch

Postby dyn » Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:17 UTC

Nice one! Believe it or not, that's 100% normal, at the end of the game server spawns players on podium and moves all players to the spectator point in front of it. This is how podium is drawn, it's a real 3D model with players on it. You joined after that happened, so you spawned at random spectator spot from which it is possible to see other spectator spawn locations, one of which is used for that podium. It's always the same spot and it depends on the map if you can view it or not from the other spectator spawn spots.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com


Return to Quake 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests