Lag?

Anything about Call of Duty 4 - live status of all COD4 servers

Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Wed Apr 20, 2011 16:50 UTC

whats with the lag in the servers today? It seems to be happening frequently. When I check my ping its in the 300 - 900 area! Its usually 50! This occurrence happens give or take every 5 - 10 minutes! I wondering if anyone was experiencing this same issue? This is mainly happening on the DOM server.


Thanks
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby dyn » Wed Apr 20, 2011 17:21 UTC

It is happening on all 3 servers -- we bought some new lag recently, it produces nice yellow triangles on the net-graph!
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Wed Apr 20, 2011 17:33 UTC

Im not following. you bought software that shows you were theirs lag? or software thats creating it?

Pond
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby Weaver » Wed Apr 20, 2011 18:54 UTC

I'm guessing dyn is yanking your crank Pond. :)

Weaver
Weaver
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:32 UTC

Re: Lag?

Postby SD » Wed Apr 20, 2011 19:20 UTC

There is an Easter special offer on lag, we got 5 buckets for the price of 3, good value don't you think?
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby craij » Wed Apr 20, 2011 22:03 UTC

dyn wrote:It is happening on all 3 servers -- we bought some new lag recently, it produces nice yellow triangles on the net-graph!

you must've gotten some blocky ones too
craij
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 17:41 UTC
Server: FFA

Re: Lag?

Postby [PB]Willy Wonka » Wed Apr 20, 2011 23:46 UTC

where can i get lag? i want that value!! it sounds cheap for me?
User avatar
[PB]Willy Wonka
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 22:48 UTC
Location: Dallas TX.
Favorite map: crash
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Fri Apr 22, 2011 03:24 UTC

Oo u guys are soooooooooo funny! Lol
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Fri Apr 22, 2011 03:31 UTC

Maybe we should switch this topic to the humor category since you guys don't want to talk serious.
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby [PB]Willy Wonka » Fri Apr 22, 2011 07:19 UTC

u dont get the idea why were joking around ?
User avatar
[PB]Willy Wonka
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 22:48 UTC
Location: Dallas TX.
Favorite map: crash
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby Apocalypse » Fri Apr 22, 2011 15:20 UTC

Servers are lagging because 3 COD dedicated are running from dual core. we used to have quad core for this but, lack of donations caused us to downgrade server. a couple hundred dollars in donations could put us back to quad core server. When they all get full u get LAG and messed up timing AIRSTRIKES OFF. So more donations equals less lag. AND I AM NOT JOKING AROUND.
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Wed Apr 27, 2011 16:40 UTC

I was wondering if their is a ping limit set on the cod4 servers? If their is it needs to be set lower! People are playing cod4 with a ping of 500-700! I can't even spectate them for cheating b/c they have so much lag and I know it's not because of my computer. Plus it's slows the server down tremendously and it creates unenjoyable gameplay. You can't even shoot the guy b/c he's lagging across the screen, it's funny at first... But then it just gets annoying. It could get some people mad but it could be a wake up call to get a router/Internet service upgrade. Also what's the max amount of people that can play on a given server? I think I heard around 20. Is that right?

Pond
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby SD » Wed Apr 27, 2011 17:08 UTC

COD servers are set to 44 seats per server. I'm not sure if there's a ping restriction, but I've seen restrictions on other servers (even Q3) so it's probably specifiable. I'm not into COD but I'm sure dyn can fill you in more.
User avatar
SD
Former Admin
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 18:54 UTC
Location: Wales, UK
Favorite map: Q3TOURNEY3
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby bfc » Thu Apr 28, 2011 14:11 UTC

I think that the more hacks there are in game, the more lag that is generated.
I've seen after an admin comes in game and cleans up or when there are no hacks the server is fine.
User avatar
bfc
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 15:03 UTC

Re: Lag?

Postby rookie » Thu Apr 28, 2011 16:31 UTC

dyn/ if you will scroll down beside your name and go to box no.1 on tue.april 26. thenscroll down to the last 3 posts it explains why I was autokicked last sat. in overgrown map. sorry for the inconvienance.

rookie
rookie
TM
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 03:02 UTC
Favorite map: chinatown
Server: FFA

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Sat Apr 30, 2011 04:19 UTC

Dyn u their? Are their any ping restrictions?
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby dyn » Sat Apr 30, 2011 04:32 UTC

Ping is no problem.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Sat Apr 30, 2011 04:35 UTC

It is when I can't hit them because they lag to much. if their ping is super high doesn't that affect other people trying to kill him?
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby dyn » Mon May 02, 2011 00:19 UTC

No, high ping produces no lag on server or with players whatsoever. Connection errors, genuine or artificial -- when packets are dropped on purpose -- can make players jump from one point to another and make them harder to kill. It is a form of cheating, a bit retarded, but some people use it occasionally.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Mon May 02, 2011 04:21 UTC

Yeah ur right... http://forums.filefront.com/forgotten-hope-general-discussion/358378-do-high-ping-players-server-lag.html


I would still like to know if their are any ping restrictions if any?

bfc wrote:I think that the more hacks there are in game, the more lag that is generated.
I've seen after an admin comes in game and cleans up or when there are no hacks the server is fine.


Totally true... Hacks greatly affect how much lag their is in a server. Every time I play theirs always someone complaining about how many cheaters their are in the server and how much lag their is b/c of them. And you guys say you don't need anymore admins.... That's your call...
I mean what do I care if my favorite server gets bogged down with hackers every time I go on... But noooooo you guys have it totally under control... Not to be disrespectful =) .

Pond
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby dyn » Mon May 02, 2011 10:45 UTC

High pingers are not a problem, really. There was some theory how it may *sometimes* affect low pingers, but this was in Quake 1 days, and Q1 had totally different network code. Later QW (QuakeWorld) resolved those issues, and this was in 1997/1998. Q2 and Q3 use new network code, each client is independent from others, and COD4 is using heavily modified Q3 network code. Only problem can be players dropping packets, which is not related to ping.

There is 888 limit, just to keep really lagged people away.
User avatar
dyn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3847
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 07:50 UTC
Favorite map: q3dm8
Server: FFA
Website: https://vogonhq.com

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Tue May 03, 2011 03:44 UTC

K thnx.
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Tue May 03, 2011 20:17 UTC

wheres the server located... if i may ask.
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby Apocalypse » Tue May 03, 2011 20:33 UTC

{TTS}Pond wrote:wheres the server located... if i may ask.

Northern New Jersey/New York for USA Servers
User avatar
Apocalypse
Former Admin
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 19:21 UTC
Location: U.S.A.
Favorite map: Winter_Crash
Server: COD4

Re: Lag?

Postby [PB]Willy Wonka » Tue May 03, 2011 20:53 UTC

thats where the physical servers is...??!! lol i heard in Ares that the server was in Europe?
User avatar
[PB]Willy Wonka
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 22:48 UTC
Location: Dallas TX.
Favorite map: crash
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby {TTS}Pond » Tue May 17, 2011 13:18 UTC

If the server was in europe we would be massacured by the europeans due to our massive lag... :D
User avatar
{TTS}Pond
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:02 UTC
Location: Virgina
Server: INSTAKILL

Re: Lag?

Postby QueenKimmy » Wed May 18, 2011 01:11 UTC

{TTS}Pond wrote:If the server was in europe we would be massacured by the europeans due to our massive lag... :D


no actually we have had servers in europe and lag was not really an issue unless you had a poor internet connection. i never noticed a difference.
User avatar
QueenKimmy
Former Admin
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 03:36 UTC
Location: nj
Favorite map: Q3ProDM3
Server: FFA


Return to COD4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 0 guests