Page 1 of 1

ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 13:47 UTC
by dyn
Yes, it's very simple and removes annoying CD KEY prompt!

Add this to the bottom of ./baseq3/q3config.cfg:
Code: Select all
seta ui_cdkeychecked "1"


You can set it via command line too, but it won't be permanent:
Code: Select all
quake3.exe +set ui_cdkeychecked 1



It's good to put some key into Q3, either by typing it or edit ./baseq3/q3key file with key on the first line. It's needed for PB servers and servers still requiring authorization.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:22 UTC
by Stacie
dyn wrote:Yes, it's very simple and removes annoying CD KEY prompt!

Add this to the bottom of ./baseq3/q3config.cfg:
Code: Select all
seta ui_cdkeychecked "1"


You can set it via command line too, but it won't be permanent:
Code: Select all
quake3.exe +set ui_cdkeychecked 1



It's good to put some key into Q3, either by typing it or edit ./baseq3/q3key file with key on the first line. It's needed for PB servers and servers still requiring authorization.

THANK YOU! That shit was SO annoying.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:24 UTC
by dyn
Glad to help! Yes, i dunno why they made it to show that prompt at every small error or menu exit.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:25 UTC
by Stacie
dyn wrote:Glad to help! Yes, i dunno why they made it to show that prompt at every small error or menu exit.

I think it also came up if you pressed Escape during a load between maps. Ugh.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 18:45 UTC
by AG
don't know if it's a ioq3 thing but i sometimes still get prompted for the key after escaping from maps like stacie mentioned.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 22:34 UTC
by dyn
BUMP

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 17:57 UTC
by emperor
Quake III Arena is a specific game ;)
You can make CD-key and this key is correct! Seriously.

To make key please use only this signs:

Code: Select all
2, 3, 7, w, r,
t, p, a, s, d, g, h, j, l, c, b.


and write the key using randomly chosen signs, only this signs.

If key is out of order the first time round, try one more time.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 21:12 UTC
by Weegee
Talk about sophisticated copy protection... even "2222222222222222" works.

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 06:03 UTC
by dyn
emperor wrote:Quake III Arena is a specific game ;)
You can make CD-key and this key is correct! Seriously.

To make key please use only this signs:

Code: Select all
2, 3, 7, w, r,
t, p, a, s, d, g, h, j, l, c, b.


and write the key using randomly chosen signs, only this signs.

If key is out of order the first time round, try one more time.

Thanks for the tip! It can be very useful when a real fake key is needed. :)

Weegee wrote:Talk about sophisticated copy protection... even "2222222222222222" works.

Yes, hehe. I knew about "222...".

Quake II was funny as well, in a way. It had real CD protection, but it was possible to copy it 1:1 with a good CD recorder (Plextor, ...) so then copy was protected as well. :)

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 17:11 UTC
by 1UnRaTeD1
but even though u generate a key...doesn't it still check on master server keys to match to play online??

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 18:09 UTC
by craij
my version of ioquake3 has always asked for the key ... i just click "accept" without entering anything, has always worked
i had a friend in high school who owned a old Chevette, didn't need a key, just turn the ignition and off you go
so, i guess ioquake3 is much like an old Chevette

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 01:28 UTC
by 1UnRaTeD1
nice nice cool :) just wondering

Re: ENTER CD KEY -- how to disable it

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 13:32 UTC
by dyn
1UnRaTeD1 wrote:but even though u generate a key...doesn't it still check on master server keys to match to play online??


Quake 3 servers can use sv_strictAuth 0 to bypass client CD-key check.

Main problem with Q3 is constant nagging about CD-key, which can be disabled by setting ui_cdkeychecked to 1, either in config or otherwise. Another way is to use some fake key, which appears valid. That is, if you have no real CD-key, or in cases when you don't play on your PC and don't want others to steal your CD-key.